Our Origin

The members of this Association include a majority of Indian universities and research institutions. The Association has 307 member institutions of which 245 are permanent members. Among the members, 141 are universities, 134 are research institutes, 14 academic institutions and 18 central and state government agencies. The current chairman of the association is Dr. S. R. Hashim, former Member and Secretary of the Planning Commission and the current presiding Member-Secretary is Dr. Alakh Sharma, Director,Institute for Human Development, New Delhi. The Association conducts activities like annual conferences, lectures and publishes a multi-disciplinary journal to facilitate its key objectives.

The major contribution of the Association is the publication of its in-house quarterly peer-reviewed journal IASSI Quarterly: Contributions to Indian Social Science, and the IASSI Annual Conference where the leading social science thinkers and policy makers convene and interact.

Copyright © Indian Association of Social Science Institutions. All Rights Reserved